PHP errors running update_daemon2.php

Describe the problem you’re having:

TL;DR version: after relocating to a new home and unpacking my server, my update_daemon2.php script won’t run. There seems to be a problem with mcrypt.so and/or a PHP/PDO driver. My linux skillset is not great, so this may be an easy fix but I may need a little hand-holding to get it done.

Long version: I’ve been running TT-RSS for a couple of years now as a replacement for Google Reader. I learned just enough linux to get it running on a Lubuntu virtual machine, and I’ve found that as long as I don’t touch that machine then it tends to work flawlessly. I recently moved to a new home and after getting the server up and running (after sitting in a box for a couple of weeks) I pulled up my TT-RSS page and found that the update daemon wasn’t running, according to the banner on the bottom of the page.

A quick web search showed there were potentially some issues after a recent TTRSS update, so after a complete system backup I reluctantly upgraded TT-RSS with a git pull, then updated Lubuntu and installed packages with apt-get upgrade (and the Lubuntu GUI software updater). I typically don’t like to do linux updates very often because it seems that there are often problems to fix afterwards. Anyway - this didn’t fix anything but it didn’t seem to break anything else.

systemctl shows that the ttrss-daemon.service loaded but failed to activate and run. Manually running php ./update_daemon2.php showed an error about being unable to locate mcrypt.so in /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug/non-zts-20151012, so I made a copy of mcrypt.so from /usr/lib/php/20151012 into that folder. Trying to run the daemon script again now shows a new error:

Exception while creating PDO object:could not find driver

Googling that error doesn’t bring much up, but there were some suggestions I followed about installing PHP-PDO packages, and of course that hasn’t fixed anything.