Proposed web performance improvement: unload the content upon losing focus

First post here.

I have been using ttrss for a few years, so really appreciate the effort into this.

There is one thing bugging me for a while. If I have a lot (say >100) headlines in a feed, and I am reading them one by one, the tab will get slower over time. I noticed that the read headlines never recycle their content container. I wrote a proof of concept, and it seems to be working pretty well for me.

var origSetActive = Article.setActive;
        Article.setActive = function(id) {
            var activeId = Article.getActive();
            if (activeId && activeId != id) {
                const row = $('RROW-' + activeId);
                if (row && !row.hasAttribute('data-content')) {
                    const container = row.querySelector('.content-inner');
                    row.setAttribute('data-content', container.innerHTML);
                    container.innerHTML = '';
                }
            }
            return origSetActive(id);
        }

Obviously, more works are needed for it to work correctly (using the original data-content, not processed). We can also unload lazily, only the least recently used article gets evicted.

Suggestions?

i’m not sure what you’re trying to accomplish with this. you’re assigning live content back to the attribute, even though on every article selection it is replaced entirely anyway?

also, you seemingly haven’t noticed App.cleanupMemory() being called in Article.render() which cleans up all dojo objects in content node recursively?

e: also, there’s nothing in here about losing any kind of focus?

i’m running with profiler right now and i can tell you one thing, i don’t think App.cleanupMemory() actually does anything of value. profiler graph with and without it seems almost entirely equal.