Postgresql 12 experience

Spent time over the weekend upgrading my TT-RSS install to postgres12 (dump & restore) and php7.4 (RC4) under Debian Buster and happy to report everything seems to be working fine after 24+ hours, both in web client and fever API’s.

just sharing in case anyone else was curious.

Not surprised, mine got upgraded to 12 the day after it came out… my DBA consultant friend wanted to experiment. :smiley:

why not pg_upgradecluster?

I’ve never done anything besides pg_upgrade.

No reason other than I know how dump & restores works, I’ve done it before when I upgraded from 9.6 > 11. I’ve never used pg_upgradecluster before. Next time though for sure.

I tried pg_upgradecluster, it ate my db. It would seem to be a solution looking for a problem, and at least with dump/restore you have a handy backup.

Isnt pg_upgradecluster just the same as pg_dump and pg_restore under the hood i believe after some reading? Ive also just done plain dump and restore which has worked out great,abit faster though to do it all in one command also thanks for tip aswell

Unless you used the -m switch and also the -k for inplace upgrade i dont think you should loose anything and old cluster should still be present just on another port according to docs,might had to manually start it though

at some point hopefully you’ll grow out of doing tedious things like this manually. who knows, maybe even discover ansible and puppet.

you also get a hot standby of your original cluster on a separate port, instead of a dump you need to waste time loading back in case of problems.

also, if your backup policy is “manual pg_dump before version upgrade” i’m not sure what to tell you other than maybe considering a carreer in a different industry.

According to the documentation, pg_upgradecluster:
“Please note that this program cannot upgrade clusters which use tablespaces. If you use those, you have to upgrade manually.”