Api with diaspora

Hi there!
I currently run a diaspora pod and I would like to add a ttrss website that would use the same postgresql database so that users of my pod would not have to create a new user to use that service. In fact I would like the new user creation to be disabled and only use what is already in the database.
I don’t want to mess with my production database to make tests so I’m looking for a knowledgeable person to help me with that.
I can give you btc in exchange :wink:

Thanks!

Hooking one system into another system’s database is not really a good idea. Likely that both systems have different methods of storing data, so will not be 100% compatible.

Doing this will also likely require modifications to TTRSS code, which means you wont be able to easily update it in the future.

(I’m no expert on this though).

If I were to do this, I would look at automating an import from one database into the other, with some intelligent scripting, I’m guessing SQL can do this in some way, if it is on the same server/instance. Otherwise you can always script an export, then manipulate the data, and then import.

Wont be that easy though, gotta take into account that accounts will already be there, so some smarts to make sure you don’t break things is probably a good idea.

As for disabling new user creation, I’m pretty sure you can’t create a user unless you are an admin account, so that isn’t really an option. Unless there is a sign up option at the login screen, not on mine, assume that is an extra option you need to enable so shouldn’t be an issue on a default install.

Thank you for your long and interesting answer.
What I thought is that I could use the API from ttrss to interact with the diaspora database.
But maybe then I would need to also wait until the API from diaspora is also available.
Yes both will be on the same server, that’s also why I wanted to have both work together.
I’ll keep digging into how I could make this work.

LDAP?